Agenda Discovery Week Month

Curated for Me

RETIRED POLICE/LAW ENFORCEMENT/CORRECTIONS OFFICERS HR-218 Law Enforcement Officer Safety Act Course LEOSA

Connecticut Police Firearms Instructor
Write a Review
Select your rating. ( ) ( ) ( ) ( ) ( )
Endorsed by Curators:
Dec 02 9:00AM - 11:00AM

HR218 LEOSA

Instructions to participant: There will be a brief classroom portion in Salem CT before qualifying. We will discuss LEOSA and then use the indoor range in Salem CT. There will be an additional $10 fee paid directly to the range. BRING $10 CASH

On July 22, 2004, President George W. Bush signed into effect the Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act of 2004 (LEOSA). This law substantially changed the rights of active and retired sworn law enforcement officers with regard to the carrying of concealed weapons throughout the United States. Additionally, on January 4, 2011, President Barrack Obama signed into effect the:Law Enforcement Officer Safety Act Improvement Act of 2010

FAQ: Is this a recognized course to meet the requirements of LEOSA?

A: YES, the LEOSA statute states:a certified firearms instructor that is qualified to conduct a firearms qualification test for active duty officers within that State that indicates that the individual has, not less than 1 year before the date the individual is carrying the concealed firearm, been tested or otherwise found by the State or a certified firearms instructor that is qualified to conduct a firearms qualification test for active duty officers within that State.

Upon completion of the qualification course, you will receive a letter certifying that you have completed a yearly qualification with the handgun/ammunition listed in compliance with LEOSA. You must carry this letter with your retired ID card. Additionally, a LEOSA Compliance ID Card will be mailed to you within two weeks of finishing the course. You can carry this in your wallet.

There is a maximum of 20people per session. You will be allowed to qualify with one (1) handgun on your assigned qualification date. A second handgun may be utilized for an additional fee of $20. Both handguns will be listed on your issued training letter and ID Card upon completion of training. Attendees will provide their own eye and ear (hearing) protection. On the date you are scheduled to qualify for your initial certification, YOU MUST BRING THE FOLLOWING:

First-time qualifying individuals who desire the authority provided by LEOSA to carry a concealed firearm nationwide must:

  1. Completed application and "Release and Indemnification". I will email the application and release when you sign up. Bring original with you with attached required documents

  2. Retired/separated from service out-of-statelaw enforcement, now residing in Connecticut, MUSTbe retired and/or separated from service as a law enforcement officer in "Good Standing. You must have a Retired Identification Card or a Letter from your department saying you are in Good Standing.

  3. Retired or separated (10 Years Minimum Active Duty) from service Connecticut Law Enforcement/Police/CorrectionsMUSTbe separated from service as a law enforcement officer in "Good Standing with a Retired Identification Card issued by their department. NO Retired CT Troopers or Retired Federal Agents, the CT State Police handles your LEOSA Qual.

  4. Ammunition and Pistol as described below, with your own eye and hearing protection.

The following handguns are approved for this program:

Qualification will be conducted using the holster that you will be carrying your firearm in.

Pistols: double-action/Single Action, Striker Fired or Single Action pistol (1911 style)

Caliber : .380, .40, .45ACP, .357 SIG, 9mm and 10mm

Revolvers: double-action revolvers. NO SINGLE ACTION REVOLVERS

Caliber : .38, .357, 9mm and .45ACP

All handguns will be inspected to ensure they meet manufacturers specifications. Mechanical and/or safety defects will result in the firearm being rejected. Only factory ammunition (ie., Remington, Federal, Winchester, CCI, etc) will be utilized for qualification and that same ammunition will be carried in the handgun upon successful completion of the program. No re-loads or hand-loaded ammunition is allowed. Each attendee will need a minimum of 60 rds. of ammunition for his/her handgun.

The assessment course requires each attendee to fire ONE qualification of 80% or better, to establish proficiency. (Each run is 60 rds., 5 points/round) the shooter cannot miss more than 12 rounds. If you FAIL the first run, you may shoot a SECOND to attempt to qualify. If you FAIL after the second time, you may return in 30 days to attempt a THIRD qualification. There will be an additional cost for the THIRD attempt.

If you are qualifying with a semi-auto pistol, in addition to ammunition you will need:

  1. Minimum of two (2) magazines for the pistol

  2. Magazine pouch

  3. Holster for the pistol which has a retention device (ie., hammer strap, internal tension device). For safety, no cheap nylon or leather, inside-the-pants holsters.

  4. Eye and hearing protection.

If you are qualifying with a revolver, in addition to ammunition you will need:

  1. Minimum of two (2) speed-loaders for the revolver. No loading of loose rounds from the pocket.

  2. Speed-loader pouch

  3. Holster for the revolver which has a retention device (ie., hammer strap, internal tension device). For safety, no cheap nylon or leather, inside-the-pants holsters.

  4. Eye and hearing protection.

Appropriate clothing should be worn, long pants, long sleeve shirt, hat with a brim, sturdy footwear, etc. Shorts, sandals, dress shoes, bare feet are not allowed. Any unsafe behavior or violation of safety rules will result in immediate dismissal from the program.

60 Round Assessment Course

  1. Participants will fire multiple rounds from the 2, 5, 7, 15 & 20 yd. line. They will demonstrate proper safety procedures while drawing, holstering, reloading, etc

  2. Proper cover will be utilized if available

  3. Standard POST CM-5 Targets will be utilized.

  4. Participants will be required to fire ONE qualification runs of 80% or better.

  5. Failure to meet this minimum qualification and/or demonstration of unsafe gun handling will disqualify the participant for certification.

  6. The participant may return on a future date and attempt to qualify again. It will not be necessary for the participant to attend the classroom training.

Upcoming Events

Write a Review
Select your rating. ( ) ( ) ( ) ( ) ( )
×
Endorsed by Curators:
Connecticut Pistol Permit Class only $99 April 13, 2018

Connecticut Pistol Permit Class only $99 April 13, 2018

Apr 13 6:00PM - 12:00PM
Only open to 20 students per class. The classroom portion will be held on Friday, April 13, 2018 starting at 6 pm in Waterford CT. The exact location of classroomportion will be emailed after you…