Endorsed by Curators:
2018 Saturday $47.50 Handgun Permit Class w/ Free $13 Range Pass and Lunch
Endorsed by Curators:
YouMUST go online and complete the State Handgun Carry Permit before class. Use this link:
State Handgun Permit Application.
Our course is taught in our State inspected and certified handgun academy and indoor shooting range by State and Nationally certified instructors. The Handgun Permit Course is open to men and women sixteen years or older. However, to obtain a permit you must be within twelve months of your twenty-first birthday and must be twenty-one years old before applying for a Permit. Please note that applications and class certifications expire twleve months from the date of your class. Class length is mandated by the State of Tennessee at eight (8) hours excluding lunch.
Permit qualification and application process
Firearm safety and maintenance
State and Federal law relating to handgun carry
When the use of deadly force may be justified
Criminal & civil ramifications of using deadly force
Basic handgun and ammunition instruction*
Basic firing range protocol and marksmanship
Each student is required to take a short written exam.
Each student must shoot a short course of handgun fire for qualification. This takes place in our modern, clean indoor range and consists of firing 50 rounds: 20 rounds at 3 yards, 20 rounds at 5 yards, and 10 rounds at 7 yards.
Students are NOT required to shoot the same handgun that they later may wish carry. Feel free to bring and shoot your 22LRpistol or revolver. Students may rent handguns for qualification.
If you have special needs for either the written exam or range portion of the class.
Graduates of this course receive the certification required to apply for a Handgun Carry Permit in the State of Tennessee.
A handgun in safe working condition
50 rounds of factory ammunition - no reloads
Comfortable clothing(ladies please don't wear low tops because empty shells casings are very hot and can go down you shirt front).
Pencil and paper
Eye and ear protection (or use ours)
A Snack or bag lunch if you do not want pizza (pepperoni, sausage, or cheese)
Your valid Driver's License
Classes cannot be reserved without payment. You may register and pay on-line, by phone, or you may come to the store. Seating is limited, so don't wait until the last minute. If fewer than 5 students register forclass, we may reschedule the class at no additional cost to you.
Shoot Indoors - No mud, rain, sleet or snow
Class and range at one location - No extra driving
Safe, clean, modern indoor range
Relaxed, professional atmosphere
Multiple Instructors for your safety
Nationally Certified Instructors
Nationally Certified Range Safety Officers
No Drill Sergeant boot camp attitudes
Everyone gently encouraged to succeed
Classroom, Range, and Restrooms are fully ADA compliant
Comfortable shooters lounge
Large, bright, clean classroom
State of the art electronic teaching aids
FREE! One Day Range Pass - practice the day before or after your class
No Handgun? Rent a pistol with ammo for a very good price.
Get a valuable Coupon for purchases and classes
We serve pizza (pepperoni, sausage, or cheese) for lunch
Coffee, soda, and snacks are available
Convenient, easy to find on the 4-lane only two miles from I-40, Exit 356.
You do not need a "PayPal" account of your own to register for a class. We accept payments into our PayPal account that you make online with your credit card or debit card with the Visa/MasterCard logo (We have tried to change the "button" to say "continue" rather than show the PayPal message, but it is not possible.) So, please simply click the "PayPal Button" and you will be able to continue the online payment process.
Yes, you must complete the State of Tennessee Handgun Carry Permit application on-line before taking your class.
Why must I complete my Handgun Carry Permit Application before taking my class?
In order for your Carry Permit Handgun Safety Class instructor to send your test and shooting scores to the Department of Safety, he or she must have the Application Confirmation number that will be provided to you when you have completed the on-line application.
Where do I go to complete my Handgun Carry Permit Application before taking my class?
Just click the linkWHERE TO APPLYto find out how to apply online for your Handgun Carry Permit.
I do not have a handgun, may I rent one?
Yes, if you do not have a handgun you may rent one from Frontier Firearms. Ammo is extra unless you rent a 22 pistol from us.
If I fail the shooting qualification, do I get to shoot again to bring my score up?
No, you must take the entire course over again. The same is true if you fail the written test.
Is my registration/ticket transferable to another person?
Yes, but there is a small $15 transfer charge.
Must I bring my printed ticket to the event?
It is best if you do. However, we can check you in without it.
What is the REFUND POLICY?
Refunds are possible up to 7 days before the class date. After that date class fees/tickets are NON-refundable. By registering you are buying a ticket for a seat in a limited class. However, you may transfer your ticket to another class. There is a $15 charge for this service. Classes with low registration (below 5) are subject to rescheduling. You will be notified if this happens.
The name on the registration/ticket doesn't match the attendee. Is that okay?
No, because we would not know who is in attendance. However, if someone has given you their ticket please have them contact us we can adjust our records. There is a small $15 service charge for transferring a ticket to another person.
I missed my class. May I get a refund?
In order to help hold down the cost of our classes, we count on every seat being filled. Thus, we do not offer refunds (see Refund Policy above). However, you may transfer your ticket to another date. There is a $15 charge for this service.
I want to add more people to my Group.
Once you have completed your registration, you have to begin again with a new registration to add more people.
What if I am late to class?
You should arrive at least 15 minutes early (prior to the start time of the class) to assure you can get settled before the course begins. Classes start PROMPTLY at the scheduled start time. Because late arrivals may disrupt the class, you may be prohibited from entering the classroom until the first break which could jeopardize your successful completion of the course. PLEASE allow sufficient travel time.
What happens if too few students sign up for class?
Classeswith low registration (fewer than 5) may be rescheduled. Should this occur we will call or email you. We will provide you with instructions on how to sign up for a new class at no additional cost. You will be able to reschedule for another class at no additional cost.
I promise our instructors will treat you with dignity and respect - no matter your experience, sex, age, or ability. At Frontier Firearms everyone is treated in a positive, supportive manner. There will be no drill instructor attitudes or boot camp mentality in our classes.
Brant Williams, President
Links open in new a Browser TAB or a Window
Applying for a Tennessee Handgun Carry Permit
General information on applying for a handgun carry permit in Tennessee
Qualifications that must be met before applying for a Tennessee Handgun Carry Permit
Frontier Firearms and Family Shooting Centerlocated in Kingston, TN is the largest independent Knoxville area gun range and gun store. Since 2000 Frontier has provided East Tennessee shooting enthusiasts with the finest quality new and used firearms, ammunition, and shooting accessories including the latest in tactical arms and gear. Additionally, we have some of the most knowledgeable staff and finest firearms instructors around. We work with and train thousands of people each year. Indeed, few can match the experience and knowledgeof our staff. Gun classes include NRA courses the Tennessee Handgun Carry Permit class, beginning, intermediate, advanced, and private handgun instruction.
Frontier Firearms is inspected by the State of Tennessee; License No. 2-73-2
Refund & Rescheduling Policy
In order to keep our prices low, we count on every seat being filled.
Thus, if you cannot attend or otherwise miss class, we do not offer refunds.
Class fees/tickets are refundable up until 7 days before the event.
Within 7 days of class, tickets are NOT refundable.
However, for a small $15 charge we allow you to reschedule to another class.
Classes with low registration (fewer than 5) may be rescheduled at no additional cost to you.
Prices subject to change without notice
Endorsed by Curators:
Endorsed by Curators:
Endorsed by Curators: